2011 South African Association of Health Educationalists Conference

Posted on Categories conferencesTags ,

The 4th National South African Association of Health Educationalists (SAAHE) Conference was held June 30–July 2, 2011, at the Potchefstroom campus of North-West University, South Africa, with outstanding attendance from members of the FAIMER family representing Argentina, Brazil, Botswana, Sudan, Uganda, the United States, and Zambia, as well as South Africa. The organizing committee included Gerda Botha (SAFRI 2008), Southern Africa-FAIMER Regional Institute (SAFRI) faculty member Di Manning (PHIL 2008), SAFRI faculty member Glynis Pickworth (SAFRI 2008), and Liz Wolvaardt (SAFRI 2011).

Following are contributions to the conference by FAIMER staff, faculty, and Fellows.

Invited plenary address:

  • Jack Boulet (FAIMER Associate Vice President for Research and Data Resources)

Conference workshops:

  • Jack Boulet
  • Di Manning

Paper presentations:

  • Gerda Botha
  • David Cameron (PHIL 2005 and SAFRI faculty)
  • Francois Cilliers (PHIL 2004 and SAFRI faculty)
  • Hester Julie (SAFRI 2010)
  • Di Manning
  • Clemence Marimo (SAFRI 2010)
  • Ellenore Meyer (SAFRI 2011)
  • Sindisiwe Mthembu (SAFRI 2010)
  • Michael Rowe (SAFRI 2010)
  • Liz Wolvaardt

Poster presentations:

  • Susan Achora (SAFRI 2010)
  • Melanie Alperstein (SAFRI 2010)
  • Alan Barnard (SAFRI 2010)
  • Gerda Botha
  • Hoffie Conradie (SAFRI 2010)
  • Jorge Garcia (PHIL 2008)
  • Farai Madzimbamuto (SAFRI 2010)
  • Scovia Mbalinda (SAFRI 2010)
  • Ellenore Meyer
  • Ismat Mutwali (SAFRI 2010)
  • Catherine Mwesigwa (SAFRI 2010)
  • Velaphi Ndimande (SAFRI 2009)
  • Carmen Oltmann (SAFRI 2010)
  • Angelika Reinbrech-Schutte (SAFRI 2010)
  • Ben van Heerden (PHIL 2006 and SAFRI faculty)

Catherine Mwesigwa won the award for best poster for her work entitled “Rome Was Not Built in One Day: Continuous Clinical Assessment in Dentistry within a Resource Constrained Environment.” This is the fourth year in a row that a SAFRI Fellow has won this award. The following Fellows’ posters were also highly commended:

  • Alan Barnard, “The Integrated Tutorial for Effective Palliative Medicine Teaching”
  • Hoffie Conradie, “Rural Clinical Clerkships Require an Innovative Curriculum Development Approach”
  • Ellenore Meyer, “The Use of Social Networks to Provide Opportunities for Peer Learning and Reflection”

Other SAFRI faculty members who attended the conference included FAIMER Associate Director for Regional Institutes Ralf Graves, SAFRI Co-Director Juanita Bezuidenhout (PHIL 2005), Christina Tan (PHIL 2005), Marietjie van Rooyen (PHIL 2006), and Julia Blitz. Also attending the conference were Brazil-FAIMER Regional Institute Co-Director Henry Campos (PHIL 2002) and Brazil-FAIMER faculty member Paulo Marcondes (PHIL 2006).

For a complete listing of FAIMER contributions, including presentation, workshop, and poster titles, download and view the SAAHE 2011 conference program.