Skip to content
Home > Data Resources > DORA > New Zealand

New Zealand

Medical Council of New Zealand* (together with the Australian Medical Council)

Duration and levels of accreditation

Full (10 years); full subject to conditions; less than full accreditation for periods shorter than 10 years.

Accreditation standards

Evaluation process

Outcome/consequences of accreditation


Necessary for physician licensure

Description of accreditation organization

Independent Entity

The Australian Medical Council (AMC) conducts two processes that assess standards of medical education and training. These apply to:

AMC processes entail both accreditation (validating that standards are met) and peer review to promote high standards of medical education, stimulate self-analysis, and assist the training organization under review to achieve its objectives. Accreditation is conducted in a collegiate manner that includes consultation, advice, and feedback to the training organization under review.

Using a peer review process, AMC expert assessment teams assess medical training programs against standards set by the Council. The standards define the knowledge, skills, and professional attributes expected at the end of basic medical training and specialist medical training, and good practice in the delivery of medical education and training. Training organizations that meet AMC standards are granted accreditation.

* This accrediting agency is currently recognized by the World Federation for Medical Education (WFME) Programme for Recognition of Accreditation Agencies. This recognition by WFME does not imply that all medical schools operating in this country are currently accredited by the agency. Please refer to the accrediting agency directly for information regarding the accreditation status of specific medical schools.

« Back to DORA

back to top
[Last update: December 13, 2019]